An impressive evening.  These students were recognized as outstanding scholars at Mount Elizabeth Secondary School recently.  (photo credit Jerry Leibel)
Rotarian Linda Campbell presented our two Rotary scholarships To Cedrick Verreault and Amy Lane.  They both have been honor roll students through all their years at MEMSS.
Lynda Hammerstrom Rocha Scholarship
Cedrick is the Prime MInister of the Student Council.  A young member of the NDP for three years, he founded the MEMSS Social Justice Group.  He will be returning to his hometown in Quebec City to study political science at Universite Laval in the fall.  He chose to use a quote to begin his application for the scholarship, "Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time.  We are the ones we've been waiting for."
Kitimat Rotary Scholarship
Amy is the artist, winner of the Innovative Design Bridge Building Award, the Art Award, on the Principal's List, awards in metal work and social studies.  She is an active volunteer at her church, at the food bank, and  a Girl Guide.  While she would love to pursue further studies in art, her primary focus will be becoming a pilot.  Her career goal is to become a Rotary wing commercial pilot.
Each scholarship is for $1000.00.